Management Team

Dr Barnabas Ikyo

CEFTER Director and ACE Centre Leader

Dr Barnabas Ikyo has returned from diaspora to join the team. He has had post-doctoral research experience conducting and managing research with grants up to £1 million.

He has done collaborative research working at the Advanced Technology Institute, University of Surrey Guildford. His immediate past project was sponsored by the Technology Strategy Board UK. Previous collaboration include, optimizing photonics devices for Naval Research Laboratory, Washington DC, the Walter Shoctky Institute, Munich and DelAgua Ltd UK.

As the centre leader, his ultimate responsibility is to ensure successful delivery of the ACE project objectives and meet the set milestones. He will also undertake his directorate roles which primarily are centered on managing the academic activities, faculty and students.

Dr Sylvester Obaike Adejo

Department of Chemistry

Dr. Sylvester Obaike Adejo, an Associate Professor of Physical and Food Chemistry, is of the Department of Chemistry, Benue State University, Makurdi. His areas of research are corrosion inhibition using eco-friendly materials, adsorption modelling and food formulation and micronutrients.

A widely travelled person, Dr. Adejo has attended and presented research papers in a number of international conferences/seminars/workshops and received trainings around the globe. His research work culminated into the proposal of a new two-parameter adsorption isotherm model known as Adejo-Ekwenchi Adsorption Isotherm Model. For his research out, Dr. Adejo was list by Google as one of the top-ranking scientists in Nigerian in 2015/2016 (www.worldscientistsranking/nigeria). He has developed, along with his research group, a new method of corrosion monitoring. Dr. Adejo has supervised and graduated quite a number of Master’s and PhD students. He has served as departmental examination officer, postgraduate seminar coordinator and postgraduate coordinator in the Department of chemistry. Dr. Adejo, currently, is a Deputy Director in-charge of research and collaboration, Africa Centre of Excellence for Food Technology and Research, Benue State University, Makurdi

Dr. Mrs Scholastica Ngunengen Banka

Centre Secretary

Dr. Mrs Scholastica Ngunengen Banka holds a Ph.D in Educational Management. She has a number of publications in local and international journals. She is a member of the university governing council representing the Benue State university congregation. She is the Centre secretary, she assists the centre leader on the day to day running of the centre. Among others, she is a FIMC, CMC, NIM, ANOPA.

Project Technical team Members

  • Name
  • Portfolio
  • Prof. M.M Kembe
  • Vice Chancellor, Benue State University, Makurdi
  • Prof. E.A Omudu
  • Member
  • Prof. J.O Fiase
  • Member
  • Dr. S. T. Ubwa
  • Director of Academic planning
  • Prof. Tseaa Shambe
  • Member
  • Prof. L. Ega
  • Member
  • Prof. B. A Kalu
  • University of Agriculture Makurdi – Member
  • Dr. M. Imande
  • HOD Maths and Computer Science
  • Dr. S. Agishi
  • HOD Voc. & Technical Education
  • Dr. Mrs O. Igbum
  • HOD Chemistry
  • Dr. (Mrs) Dinnah Ahule
  • Women Farmers Association – Member
  • Dr. D. Gernah
  • IFS, Uni. Agric. Makurdi – Member